About Me


I’m Maury and I’m pretty new to the blogosphere. I’m 29 (AH! ONE MORE YEAR!), married to an incredible man and just moved into a new-to-us house in South Carolina. We are on a TINY budget (like itsy bitsy) and we’re updating it it room-by-room, trying to make it home.

A little about me… I’ve lived in South Carolina most of my life. I was born in Charleston, but grew up in Greenville. My husband, John, and I were married in January 2008. He’s an amazing man and I feel so blessed that he’s in my life.
God has blessed us with an incredible gift in this new home. We believe that He blesses us so that we can in turn bless others. My prayer is that John and I will use this house to glorify Him and be a blessing to everyone who enters.

What are my passions? My world is all about my faith, my family and friends. Beyond that, I love my dog, Maille, home decor, cooking, and Asian food (lots and lots of Asian food).

How can I connect with you?
Oh let me count the ways… it’s actually getting kinda crazy how many ways there are…

Why should you read my blog?
To be honest, I’m not 100% sure about that. I started this as a way to journal about updating our home. I wanted to celebrate our accomplishments and be able to laugh about our failures. To my surprise, people (other than my parents) are reading and coming back. I have a little of everything from random tidbits about my life, to DIY, to home decor and recipes. Whatever I find interesting will eventually find its way to my blog. I also have a new addiction to reading other blogs, so I’ll be sharing those as I find new ones worth mentioning.

What is the best decorating advice you’ve been given?
1. Start with a “jumping-off point.” It can be a fabric that you love, a pattern, a pillow, a shirt… something that inspires you and gives you a vision.
2. When in doubt, go with neutrals and build the color and fun into your accent pieces.
3. Design one room at a time. Don’t try to skip around in a million different projects (I have a hard time with this one. At the time of writing this, I’m working on two rooms, plans for a  third and the outside).